top of page

Blog

Om te weet wanneer 'n nuwe blog-inskrywing geplaas word, registreer hier.

Search

Wherever tomorrow may take me


 

In my 47 years, I've had a few jobs - and that just made my father turn in his grave. Because a long career in the public service with an assured pension was the outline of his frame of reference and had been proven recipe for generations.

 

I understand.

Although that's not how it is these days.

 

But back to my point. All those jobs I worked my way through, had one thing in common: Before I set foot over the threshold of that new office on that very first day, I already had a pretty clear guideline of what would be expected of me, how my routine would look like day by day, or week by week at least, and how I would be judged on my performance.

 

Our friend Paul? Not so lucky.

 

"Then I said, 'What do I do now, Master?'

"He said, 'Get to your feet and enter Damascus.

There you'll be told everything that's been set out for you to do.'

Acts 22:10 The Message

 

Remember: This was his new profession. From "butcher of Christians" he would now be a... WHAT...?

 

He didn't know. One would think that he would ask for a clear outline of his duties and what would be expected of him.

 

But all we read is this next sentence:

 

"And so we entered Damascus."

Acts 22:11 The Message

 

All he knew was that the One who brought him to his knees here was the One he would follow wherever He would lead him. Pre-agreed job description or not.

 

That one person can change direction so radically in his views of the world around him is in itself a miracle. That the same person could do this without asking a single question leaves me speechless. Because it was certainly not the Paul we got to know earlier in the book of Acts!

 

Which makes me yearn for my own miracle.

Where I don't necessarily have to have all the answers.

Where I get up and shake off the dust that has made itself so comfortable in the folds of my prayer robe.

Where I wash my face and lift my head and walk out with His promise.

Stepping out into tomorrow.

 

Wherever tomorrow may take me.

 

 

 

Your inspiration for the week: Quiet


bottom of page